PER FUMUS

a journey of the senses by FLACONNEUR

My Nuptial Conundrum

13734975_143036559465772_7858972662764474367_o

When I got married this past June, I found myself asking the inescapable question: what fragrance will I wear on my wedding day? As a fragrance enthusiast, a decision of this magnitude was by far, much more important than I contemplated. Did I think about it endlessly until the very day of my wedding? Well, honestly, no. I was consumed by far too many other important decisions. I stayed focused on my “to do list,” and left my fragrance choice for the big day for yet another time. I must admit that I found it amusing that many of my friends were more engrossed in the topic that I was. Was I missing something?

The closer the day came, the more my own anxiety set in. I needed to seriously think about this before I was grasping at bottles hysterically the day of my wedding, simply because the bottles looked interesting. I really needed to decide on what I wanted to smell like. A few days before my wedding, I made a concerted effort to focus on what everyone else thought I’d already figured out.

Because the wedding was in June and it was at my home, in the garden, flowers seemed the natural choice. Would I blend in with all of the other scents and if so, what fragrance would make me stand out? How about something green? Well, just about the same problem. Would I just blend in with all the other green garden scents?

To accessorize my blazer, I originally wanted to wear a boutonnière composed of gardenia, in honor of my mother. The more I investigated the possibility, the size of the flower for a gardenia boutonnière seemed be much larger than I could stand. Instead, I decided on an smaller white orchid, architectural and simple, with some smaller green orchids to make a nice arrangement. So, here I was back to my original problem. Since I couldn’t have the flower I wanted as a boutonniere as a focal point, what was I to do?

Like a smack in the head, I remembered the lovely masculine gardenia fragrance I had in my collection called Boutonnière No. 7 by Arquiste Perfumer. This little floral concoction has overtones of a sophisticated, night-time gardenia. It was elegant and seemingly appropriate for a garden setting. The fragrance has a hint of lavender, bergamot, Italian Mandarin, and a touch of green vetiver and oak moss. Sort of like an epiphany, it seems that I had made the decision. Boutonnière No. 7 it would be.

Well, the big day came faster than expected. It was a warm, beautiful summer evening. My worries were over and Boutonnière No. 7 was embraced, literally, by all who attended with overwhelming approval. Not only did I marry the man of my dreams, but, because of Boutonnière No. 7, I had my mother by my side. I couldn’t have asked for anything more.

8 comments on “My Nuptial Conundrum

  1. Linda
    October 26, 2016

    What a wonderful love story❤️

  2. Cary A Guide
    October 27, 2016

    Every single one of your choices for your wedding day was perfection.
    It is not often that an event with so many details is so divinely executed.
    Bravo and Congratulations once again!

    • Flaconneur
      October 27, 2016

      Thank you, Cary and you being there made it that much more special.

  3. Billie
    October 28, 2016

    Congrats!
    Great story!

    • Flaconneur
      October 28, 2016

      Thanks, Billie. Glad to have a few fragrance friends there to share in our special day.

  4. Cryptic
    October 28, 2016

    What could be more chic than orchids? Great choice for a wedding boutonniere, and the fragrance you picked was also inspired. Congratulations to you and your spouse, and all best wishes for a wonderful life together!

    • Flaconneur
      October 28, 2016

      Coming from you, Cryptic, that mean a great deal. Thank you for your kind words. In retrospect, I find the final choice for my wedding day fragrance pure perfection. I don’t know why I seemed so stuck. Boutonnière No. 7 will always remind me of my wedding day. It will also remind me of one of the two people responsible for being there to enjoy it, my mom.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2016 by in From Flaconneur's Desk and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

Follow PER FUMUS on WordPress.com

Recent Posts

October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 27,404 hits

Creative Commons License
PER FUMUS is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

©2011-2017 PER FUMUS
All rights reserved.

